REVIEW: We Never Asked for Wings by Vanessa Diffenbaugh


Misson Valley versus Bayshore, both near San Francisco California yet worlds apart.  Well-educated and maybe selfless, maybe selfish Letty gives birth to Alex and hides that from his birth father.  Scrambling to get by, she works 2 and 3 jobs to provide for the baby and her parents while her parents care for Alex and later Luna.  At the beginning of the novel, Letty’s parents move on to make a life for themselves back in Mexico.  Letty, Luna and Alex flounder in the Bay area as they need to establish themselves as a new family unit.

It took some work to get into the story for the first 2-3 chapters.  I’m glad I stuck with it, though, because I enjoyed the author’s depth of character given to Alex and Letty.  One thing that struck me was the difference that a neighborhood can make in the education of a child.

I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest thoughts and opinions.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a comment